Fixing Citrix XTE Server After Installing Citrix Secure Gateway

In configuring a new XenApp 6.5 server on Windows 2008 R2, I found that users could no longer authenticate to the server. I also discovered that I was unable to start the Citrix XTE Server service.

When I tried to manually start the service, I received the following error:

Windows could not start the Citrix XTE Server on Local Computer. For more information, review the System Event Log. If this is a non-Microsoft service, contact the service vendor, and refer to service-specific error code 1.

These sorts of nondescript errors pop up all the time when trying to troubleshoot Citrix services, which makes it tough to do any real troubleshooting.

I dug around in the registry and found a strange entry in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREWow6432NodeCitrixXTEConfig key.  The ServerRootPath was set to C:Program Files (x86)CitrixSecure Gateway.  It struck me as odd that this problem popped up only after I had installed the Secure Gateway service, and that the path to the XTEServer was suddenly pointing to the directory where the Secure Gateway binaries were stored.

I did some reading online and found that when installing older versions of the Secure Gateway service, this registry misconfiguration took place, preventing the XTE service from starting. One would think that Citrix would have fixed this problem already, but I guess not.

So, I simply changed the ServerRootPath registry entry to reflect the proper root directory of the XTEServer, which fixed the issue.  The proper entry for that registry value is C:Program Files (x86)CitrixXTE.

All you should need to do to fix the problem is change that value and reboot the server.  After that, you are good to go.

EDIT: I later found this.http://support.citrix.com/article/CTX118021

One thought on “Fixing Citrix XTE Server After Installing Citrix Secure Gateway

Leave a Reply

